Resources and Websites

Birds

Resources and Websites

BC Breeding Bird Atlas www.birdatlas.bc.ca
Community Mapping Network, Georgia Basin Habitat Atlas: Boundary Bay, http://cmnbc.ca/atlas_gallery/georgia-basin-habitat-atlas
Delta Naturalists: Birding Brochure
Semiahmoo First Nation, www.bcafn.ca/files/fn-semiahmoo-first-nation.php

Birds
American Bird Conservancy, www.abcbirds.org/abcprograms/policy/cats/index.html
American Ornithologists Union, www.aou.org
Audubon, www.birds.audubon.org/about-audubon-science
BC Field Ornithologists, www.bcfo.ca
Biodiversity Centre for Wildlife Studies, www.wildlifebc.org 
Birdlife International, www.birdlife.org
Bird Studies Canada, www.bsc-eoc.org  
Canadian Wildlife Service, www.ec.gc.ca
City of Surrey, Birds on the Bay, http://www.surrey.ca/culture-recreation/527.aspx
Cornell Lab of Ornithology, www.birds.cornell.edu  
Ducks Unlimited Canada, www.ducks.ca
Ebird, www.ebird.org
E Fauna & Birds of BC, http://www.geog.ubc.ca/biodiversity/efauna/SpeciesChecklists.html
National Audubon Society, www.audubon.org  
Nature Canada, www.naturecanada.ca
Nature Vancouver, http://www.naturevancouver.ca/Birding_Birding_Sites
North American Bird Sounds, www.naturesongs.com/birds.html
Simon Fraser University centre for Wildlife Ecology, www.sfu.ca/biology/wildberg
Washington Brant Foundation, www.wabrant.org  
Western Hemisphere Shorebird Reserve Network, www.whsrn.org
Wild Research, www.wildresearch.ca

International Birding (further info about international birding travel)

Birders Hosting Birders, www.birdershostingbirders.com
Birdwatching Guides  http://www.guidedbirdwatching.com
Birdwatching contacts and information find a local birder to go birdwatching with:
http://www.birdingpal.org/

Argentina:
Tierra del Fuego area, Esteban Daniels, email: estebandaniels@gmail.com

Borneo:
Sabah, ‘Jason’ Azahari Reyes, email: horukuru@gmail.com

Cambodia:
Sam Veasna Center for Wildlife Conservation, email: coord@samveasna.orgwebsite: www.samveasna.org

Cuba:
• Varadero, Zapata areas, Ernesto Reyes Mourino, email: zapatarail2005@yahoo.es ; http://www.mycubabirdguide.com ; Telephone: (53) 045 91 2049 or Cell: 53-53112575
• Cayo Coco area, Odey Martinez, email: pbaga@enet.cu ;Telephone: (53) 52627287

Costa Rica:
• Alex Martinez, PO Box 13, Puerto Viejo, Sarapiqui, Heredia, Costa Rica; Telephone: Posada
• Andrea Cristina -766-6265; Email: Alex Martinez (alex6265@hotmail.com)

Myanmar:
• Kalaw, ‘Ko Pan’ U Sein Myo Aung, email: kopan.ornithologist15@gmail.com
• Sittwe, ‘Ren’ Noung Soe, email : rennousoe@gmail.com
• Yangon, Lin Naing, Wildlife Conservation Society, email: nilzmw@gmail.com
• Thet Zaw Naing, SST Tourism, email: marketing@sstmyanmar.com

International Taiwan Birding Association, www.birdingtaiwan.org
North Cascades Audubon Society, www.northcascadesaudubon.org  
Thailand – peninsula: Bunchachai ‘Ike’ Suriwong, email: ikeandrosie@gmail.com

Vietnam:
• Ho Chi Min City, Vy ‘Vybird’ Nguyen Tran, email: vychim@gmail.com telephone: 0919172173 North,
• Bui Duc Tien, email: tiencucphuong1972@yahoo.com ; telephone: 0914257503
• Vietnam Birding, Richard Craik, www.vietnambirding.com

Conservation & Education
Boundary Bay Conservation Committee, www.sunburyneighbourhood.ca/bbcc/
Canadian Wildlife Federation, www.cwf-fcf.org/en/educate
Children & Nature Network, http://www.childrenandnature.org/news/detail/the_powerful_link_between_conserving_land_and_preserving_health
Nature Guides BC, www.natureguidesbc.com
Pesticide Free Coalition BC, www.pesticidefreebc.org 
Plastic is Drastic, www.heritagesalvage.com/plastic-is-drastic

Fish & Marine
Bamfield Marine Science Center, www.oceanlink.info
Fish Base, www.fishbase.org
Fraser Delta Spartina Committee
Georgia Strait Alliance, (& Toxic Smart Program), www.georgiastrait.org
Pacific Estuarine Research Society, www.pers-erf.org
Pacific Streamkeepers Federation, www.pskf.ca
People for Puget Sound, www.pugetsound.org
Port Townsend Marine Science Center, www.ptmsc.org
Washington State University Beach Watchers,  www.beachwatchers.wsu.edu
World Wetlands, www.ramsar.org

Native Plants

E Flora, www.geog.ubc.ca/biodiversity/eflora  
Native Plant Society of BC, www.npsbc.org
Washington Native Plant Society, http://www.wnps.org/education/resources/index.html

Flora ID Northwest has just announced two new Android apps for British Columbia and SW Canada wildflowers on the Google Play Store. They are pleased to make this available in a "field friendly format" that is the culmination of nearly 20 years producing interactive plant keys. The apps are titled "1900 BC Canada Wildflowers" and "2350 SW Canada Wildflowers." They are much more comprehensive than the usual wildflower book or app, with many more species, over 5800 and 7200 photos repectively, and sophisticated interactive keys with all the functionality of the keys in our PC programs (currently sold through the Native Plant Society of British Columbia). The apps include 91 and 92% respectively of all the native and naturalized, non-graminoid flowering species in British Columbia and in the 4 provinces of SW Canada. Species can be sorted by either common or scientific names, with synonyms listed in descriptions and additional features to assist in managing nomenclatural changes.

For more details, see their web site http://flora-id-northwest.com , or the web page on Google Play Store (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.floraidnorthwest.britishcolumbia Scroll to the bottom to access other apps) They also have apps available on the store for most western and central states up to and including Kansas to Wisconsin.

Invasive Plants
BC Spartina Working Group (BCSWC), www.spartina.ca
Invasive Plant Council of Metro Vancouver, http://www.gvipc.ca/images/most_wanted/GVIPC_Inv_plant_list_Dec08.pdf 
Invasive Plant Council of BC, http://www.invasiveplantcouncilbc.ca/resources/invasive-plant-research-database

Other 

White Rock Museum and Archives, www.whiterockcity.ca/museum&archives

 

 

 

 



 

 

Photo: Ed Robertson

 

 

 

Photo: Patrick Siu